The Sorcerer Royal trilogy

Sorcerer to the Crown, Book #1 of the Sorcerer Royal trilogy

sorcerer_front mech.indd SorcerertotheCrownUKcoverlarge
 

Sorcerer to the Crown is my debut novel, the first of three historical fantasy books set in Regency London, featuring magic, romance and lots of hijinks. It came out in hardcover from Ace Books (US) and Macmillan (UK and Commonwealth) in September 2015, and is forthcoming from Droemer Knaur in Germany.

Zacharias Wythe, England’s first African Sorcerer Royal, is contending with attempts to depose him, rumours that he murdered his predecessor, and an alarming decline in England’s magical stocks. But his troubles are multiplied when he encounters runaway orphan Prunella Gentleman, who has just stumbled upon English magic’s greatest discovery in centuries.

How you can buy it

US edition
Penguin Random House (links to all major US retailers, print and digital)
Indiebound
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository (free shipping worldwide)
Amazon.com

UK edition
Pan Macmillan (links to all major UK retailers, print and digital)
Goldsboro Books (limited edition)
Foyles
Blackwell’s
Waterstones
WH Smith
Book Depository (free shipping worldwide)
Amazon UK

Do try to order from your local indie bookshop if you can — Big Green Bookshop is a nice one in North London.

Audiobook
Audible

Praise for the book

Sorcerer to the Crown made Best of 2015 lists from (among others) Library Journal, ALA, Barnes & Noble, NPR, io9, Tor.com, BookRiot and The Seattle Times, as well as the 2015 Locus Recommended Reading List! It was among the official nominees for the Alex Awards for books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, has been longlisted for the BSFA Awards, and is a RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards Nominee for Best Fantasy Novel.

Blurbs

Here are some awesome things awesome people have said about the book.

“An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susannah Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide.” Naomi Novik, New York Times bestselling author of the Temeraire novels

“A warm, funny debut novel by a brilliant new talent.” Charles Stross, awardwinning author of the Laundry Files and Merchant Princes series

“Fabulous! If you like Austen or Patrick O’Brian, or magic and humor like Susanna Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this!” Ann Leckie, Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Award winning author of Ancillary Justice

“Zen Cho’s SORCERER TO THE CROWN is inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can’t wait for the next book.” Courtney Milan, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

“A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world — it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style.” Karen Lord, awardwinning author of The Best of All Possible Worlds

“A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it!” Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series

“Magic, manners and dragons in Regency England — this alone would be awesome, but Zen Cho adds a veneer of comment on English colonial politics …. Like a mix of Jane Austen, PG Wodehouse, and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, and all its own thing. Glorious.” Aliette de Bodard, awardwinning author of Obsidian and Blood and The House of Shattered Wings

“Compulsively readable and wickedly funny, this magical marriage of Jane Austen and P.G. Wodehouse delivers love, laughs, and a thoroughly modern sensibility, and will keep you reading long into the night. I loved it.” Lavie Tidhar, World Fantasy Award winning author of Osama

“Georgette Heyer meets Anthony Trollope with some Edward Said and a very big dash of feminism. Romance, magic, frocks, intrigue and lots of politics … I would marry this book if I could.” Justine Larbalestier, awardwinning author of Razorhurst

“Sorcerer to the Crown is fast-paced and witty, and should appeal to fans of Mary Robinette Kowal and Gail Carriger.” Elizabeth Bear, awardwinning author of Karen Memory

Social media

Sorcerer to the Crown is on GoodReads:

Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer Royal, #1)

I’ve also set up a Pinterest board to capture the visual world of the book. Check it out below!

Follow Zen Cho’s board Sorcerer to the Crown on Pinterest.